If you already own a mobile home in a mobile home park, or you are about to move into one, there are various laws established to provide and ensure a quiet environment, convenience and safety for all residents.
This is established by the Mobile Home Parks Act through health and safety requirements for both the parks themselves, and the mobile homes located within the parks. Minimum standards required for common areas, roads and utility systems are described by the code, just to name a few.
Let’s get to know some of the legal terms and basic rules of the mobile home park community.
#1 – Your Rental/Lease Agreement
To ensure everyone knows where things stand, your lease agreement is more than just a document stating you can reside in the park for a certain length of time (usually 12 or more months). The lease will also lay out any other fees due, what’s expected of you as a resident of the mobile home park, the park’s rules and regulations, as well as a copy of the MRL (Mobile Home Residency Law).
It’s important to have a lease agreement signed by both parties, as it’ll give you peace of mind that you cannot be kicked out of the park for no apparent reason.
#2 – What You Can Be Evicted For
While having a lease guarantees you can’t be evicted for no valid reason, it doesn’t protect you from possible eviction from the park completely. There are genuine grounds for eviction of park residents under certain circumstances.
For example, if you continually breach the park’s rules and regulations, you could find yourself served with a notice to vacate the park.
A common reason for eviction would be refusing to pay the rent due on your home or lot, or forever being late in coming up with the monthly rent when it’s due.
Operating some form of illegal activity within the mobile home park is also grounds for eviction.
Be sure to familiarize yourself with California mobile home park eviction laws so you know where you stand.
#3 – What Is Mobile Home Residency Law?
Known simply as the “MRL”, Mobile Home Residency Law is a collection of laws governing mobile home parks that is enforceable by the court system. The laws are there to protect both park owners as well as residents who live in mobile home parks.
Parties in a dispute must enforce the MRL through the courts.
The MRL is very detailed, so for complete information of Mobile Home Residency Law, it’s best to read their detailed PDF.
#4 – Mobile Home Park Fees
In some Californian mobile home parks there may be other fees to pay besides your rent and utilities. This could include fees enforced by the local government in certain areas, such as fees like the school impact fee, applicable to newer parks.
The park might also instigate late fees if you fail to pay your rent on time. These late fees, along with the rent due, are expected to be paid or you could face a possible eviction notice.
If your mobile home park wants to introduce a new fee, they must give residents 60 days notice before the new fee becomes active.
#5 – Department of Housing and Community Development
Also known simply as the “HCD”, the Department of Housing and Community Development has the right to inspect mobile homes once every 7 years to see if there are any code violations. They can come at any time if you’ve been reported for a code violation and a complaint filed under the Mobile Parks Act has been received.
Any violations that present a threat to peoples’ safety must be rectified ASAP, while other non-threatening violations must be sorted within a one to two month period.
#6 – Park Rules & Regulations
A copy of your mobile home park’s rules & regulations will be given to you when you sign a lease. All residents are expected to adhere to these rules for the quiet enjoyment and benefit of everyone.
The rules are there to provide a safe park environment, ensure the property is looked after, and that everybody enjoys a high quality of life.
Repeated breaches of the rules could lead to eviction from the park.